Salary & Working Conditions Committee

Terms of Reference

Reporting to:
Reports regularly to the TRUFA Executive.

Membership:
The Salary and Working Conditions Committee is composed of proportionate representation from members in each of the following categories:

Bipartite: 3 reps Tripartite: 3 reps
Lab Faculty: 3 reps Non-Regular Faculty: 2 reps
Vocational Trades: 2 reps
Vocational-non Trades: 2 reps Instructional Support: 2 reps
Open Learning: 1 rep Williams Lake 1 rep

Term of Appointment:
Members will be elected at the AGM on a staggered basis (50% per year) and will serve on the committee for a two year term.

Duties and Responsibilities:
SWCC is responsible for two main areas. First, SWCC coordinates training of TRUFA Representatives for Departmental Performance Review Committees (PRC) and ensures coverage by these Representatives at all Departmental PRC Meetings as per the Collective Agreement. Second, SWCC is also responsible for coordination and review of the bargaining process including preparation, interim assessment and strategy development. Preparation for bargaining will include (but not be limited to) collecting and organizing data by surveying members and by organizing face to face meetings with members.

Meetings:
Meetings of the Committee are held at the call of the Chair. Meetings shall normally be convened a minimum of once per month between September and June in non-bargaining years and in bargaining years at such times as to allow co-ordination and review of the bargaining process.
Attendance and Participation: All representatives are expected to attend meetings and participate in the business of the committee such as planning and participating in bargaining and/or serving as TRUFA Rep on Departmental Performance Review Committees. If a member misses three consecutive meetings or more than half of the meetings held in any academic year, or if a member does not participate in the regular work of the committee, the Committee may recommend to the TRUFA Executive to decide that that representative’s seat becomes vacant until such time as a replacement member can be elected.

Chairperson:
The Committee shall elect a new Chairperson/Co-Chairs at the first meeting of the Committee held after the convening of the Annual General Meeting. The Committee will normally elect a Chairperson who has served on the Committee a previous term. The Chairperson or designate shall attend TRUFA Executive, Table Officers, and Consultative meetings. The responsibility of the Chairperson includes attendance at appropriate FPSE meetings/training sessions. The Chairperson shall attend the Annual General Meeting.

Quorum:
Fifty percent of the reps including the Chair.

Voting:
Motions adopted by simple majority.

Salary & Working Conditions Committee – 2 Yr. Term

POSITION
NAME
DEPARTMENT
OFFICE
E-MAIL
PHONE
START
FINISH
Vice-President, SWCC (and Research & Scholarship Rep) Lloyd Bennett Visual & Performing Arts Old Main Building – OM1523B lbennett@trufa.ca 250-828-5480 April 26 16 April 30 18
Contract Faculty Rep John Turner English as a Second Language Old Main Building – OM2776 jturner@trufa.ca 250-371-5831 April 26 16 April 30 18
Contract Faculty Rep Vacancy
Faculty of Arts Rep Monica Sanchez Sociology & Anthropology Arts & Ed Building – AE397 msanchez@trufa.ca 250-377-6073 April 26 16 April 30 18
School of Nursing Rep Mona Taylor Nursing Faculty Annex Nursing – FAN104 mtaylor@trufa.ca 250-828-5296 April 26 16 April 30 18
Faculty of Education & Social Work Rep Vacant
Faculty of Adventure, Culinary Arts & Tourism Rep Sarah Osberg  Adventure Programs  Old Main Building – OM1267  sosberg@tru.ca  250-371-5842  April 24 17  April 30 18
Faculty of Law Rep Sarah Marsden Law Old Main Building – OM4619 smarsden@tru.ca 778-471-8370 April 24 17 April 30 18
Faculty of Science Rep Cindy Ross Friedman Biological Sciences Science Building – S348 cross@trufa.ca 250-828-5424 April 26 16 April 30 18
School of Trades Rep Randy Underwood  Electrical  Williams Lake Campus – 1021  runderwood@tru.ca  250-392-8133  April 24 17  April 30 18
Faculty of Student Dev. & Instr. Support Rep Melissa Svendsen University Library Williams Lake Campus – 1155 msvendsen@trufa.ca 250-392-8031 April 26 16 April 30 18
School of Business & Economics Rep Avninder Gill  School of Business & Economics International Building – IB2017 agill@trufa.ca 250-828-5155 April 26 16 April 30 18
Williams Lake Rep Vacancy